Digital World Premiere


Extended and streaming through June 30

Art is how we process the world around us. It opens up avenues of thought, imagination, wonder, and reckoning. PROTOTYPE presents MODULATION, a creative investigation on the strands that weave together our lives over this past tumultuous and revelatory year. A digital, self-guided exploration of these distanced times created by thirteen of the most provocative and diverse voices in the contemporary music idiom; MODULATION leads you through the themes of ISOLATION, IDENTITY, and FEAR, with the connection of BREATH. An electrifying auditory and visual journey of new creations awaits.

As our society, country and world continue to exist in a form of suspended animation, we persevere through distance in search of humanity. We reflect on the long days behind us and reveal some answers through this creative effort. The voices of artists show us the hope and the irrepressible power of music to provide comfort and instigate contemplation of ourselves, our art, our world.

Commissioned, Developed, and Produced by PROTOTYPE: Opera | Theatre | Now

Tickets to MODULATION are $5-$50.

In order to present MODULATION, PROTOTYPE commissioned 13 composers and nearly one hundred collaborators to create this digitally native, user-led adventure – an enormous digital undertaking by both our team and this cadres of artists! The ticket price allows the Festival to create world premiere projects while employing artists to dream, respond, and inspire.

Lyrics to Fear is Their Alibi composed by Yvette Janine Jackson
Lyrics to Out of a Thought composed by Molly Joyce
Lyrics to Clairvoyance composed by Joel Thompson

Lyrics to Waves Of Change by Juhi Bansal
Lyrics to Otra Cosa by Angélica Negrón
Lyrics to Whiteness: Blanc by Paul Pinto

Lyrics to AYENE [mirror] by Sahba Aminikia
Lyrics to La Indita Cautiva by Raven Chacon
Lyrics to Where Once We Sang by Jimmy López Bellido
Lyrics to I Have Nothing To Do Except Love by Daniel Bernard Roumain
Lyrics to The Life of the World to Come by Bora Yoon


Sahba Aminikia

Juhi Bansal

Raven Chacon

Carmina Escobar

Yvette Janine Jackson

Molly Joyce

Jimmy López Bellido

Angélica Negrón

Paul Pinto

Daniel Bernard Roumain

Joel Thompson

Bora Yoon